Castle Hill Estate

Fog, rain, mist and cool temperatures have prevailed in eastern Massachusetts this past week.   It’s a wonderful time to head out with a camera to capture the landscape in beautiful, soft light.  After work one evening I found myself driving aimlessly, as I often do when I go out to shoot.  Ten minutes later I arrived at the gatehouse of the Crane Estate at Castle Hill in Ipswich, Mass. insisting to the gatekeeper that emphatically yes, I do want to visit tonight and walk around in the fog and rain.

After parking my car at the bottom of the hill and putting on my rubber boots, the pouring rain stopped just long enough for me to walk for an hour and take this series of images.  It was a magical evening.

Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Garden Wall

Castle Hill on the Crane Estate - Enter Here

Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Turkey Hill
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Statues
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Dogwood
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Tree in Bloom
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Doe
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Window
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Trees in Fog
Castle Hill on the Crane Estate – Come this Way

All images taken with a Nikon D700, 70-200mm lens.  Processed in Photoshop and Nik Color Efex Pro.

4 thoughts on “Castle Hill Estate

  1. Beautiful pics. I heard that they had to cut down the trees from the Grand Alley due to disease. I was wondering how the “backyard” looks now. Do you have any pictures of the house?

    • Thanks Alan! I don’t have recent pictures of the house. New trees were planted along the alley and it looks nice. The trees along the alley are like the one in the picture with the statues.

      all the best,
      debbie

Leave a Reply

