Beach Trash

I walk the beach on Plum Island in Newburyport, Massachusetts several times a week and often early in the morning.  It’s a beautiful beach and I have taken many lovely images of memorable sunrises and sunsets.   Lately I have taken more notice of the not so pretty aspect of the beach and started taking pictures of the junk I see left on the beach after the last high tide.  I consider trash to be any man made object that was not intended to be part of the natural environment.  If you stroll along the shore line you may not even notice the trash except for the big stuff like tires and lobster traps.   The trash is usually mixed in with all the beach grass that gets washed up at high tide.  Of course I have no way of knowing where the trash came from, but it’s obvious that much of what I see comes from local pursuits like fishing, and from beach goers who leave stuff on the beach which gets picked up by the surf and then eventually washed back to shore.

The number 1 item I see are plastic water bottles.  Surprised?

These images were all taken with my iPhone 5 camera.

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 8, 2014

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 8, 2014

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 8, 2014

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 10, 2014

beach trash 3w

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 12, 2014

Plum Island Beach Trash, January 12, 2014

Sometimes I see beach trash get recycled into beach art.  I took the first picture of the headless doll on January 8th.  Seven days later I found the doll again and it appears that it had run into some trouble with the cops.

Plum Island Beach Trash January 15, 2014

On January 17th I saw an extraordinary amount of trash on the beach along the mouth of the Merrimack River.  I don’t know what brings the junk in, but it must somehow be related to currents and possibly moon phases since the full moon was the day before.

Plum Island Beach Trash January 17th, 2014

And lastly a few items from January 19th:

Beer Bottle

Beer Bottle

Lobster trap and beer bottle

Lobster trap and beer bottle

2 thoughts on “Beach Trash

  1. These make me very sad. People just don’t respect this great earth we are allowed to live on…all this trash is just heartbreaking. Thanks for your documentation of it. Perhaps you should send the photos to a local newspaper….or something.

    Will you be rooting for Seattle in the Snooperbowl? Or as many are calling it- The Cannibis Bowl?

    Miss you!

    • Good idea about sharing this. It is very sad. What is weird is some days I don’t see any of it. Just the thought of all that junk in the see is so sad; so bad for marine life. Love the cannibus bowl! Go Hawks!

Leave a Reply

